Skip to main content

SP 267: Home

Information Portals

Explore Government Websites

     Guatemala

     México

     República Dominicana

Note domain names as you look further for information

Other Library Guides

For even more resources, check out these Colby Library Guides:

Steps

 La Gran Tenochtitlan, pintado por Diego Rivera en 1945  (source: Wikicommons)

Steps in Your Research

  • Read your initial text attentively, considering what information would put the writing in context and give you a fuller understanding of it.
  • Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in
  • Look up background information in the reference materials, e.g., Credo Reference, encyclopedias, atlases and histories, etc.
  • Use terminology and facts learned from background sources to search for articles in historical newspapers and periodical databases. 
  • Search for books (memoirs, collections of letters, biographies, diaries, special histories)  in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking
  • Ask your librarian!  Karen Gillum  kjgillum@colby.edu           

                                                                               Laine Thielstrom, librarian for Latin American Studies, is also happy to help you -  esthiels@colby.edu

Find Books and Media

  • CBBcat - The Library Catalog of Colby, Bates & Bowdoin
    Search for books, CDs, videos and more.
  • NExpress
    Borrow from several other academic libraries in New England.
  • WorldCat
    Search for books and other materials held in libraries worldwide. Order through ILLiad.

Searching Tips:

  • Use quotes to glue a phrase together. E.g., "Latin America"
  • Use an asterisk as a wild card to cover word variations. E.g., Latin* (for Latino, Latina, Latinas)
  • Broaden your search by using OR with parentheses. E.g., (army OR military). Results can contain either term.
  • Narrow your search by using AND. E.g., Whitman AND hospitals. Results must contain both terms.
  • Find one good item? Click on a record's Subject Headings to find similar material.
  • Expand your reach, sign up for ILLiad, our Interlibrary loan service.
  • Order directly from within WorldCat by clicking on Request through ILLiad@Colby.

CBBcat Subject Headings

Click on these links to find similar items. CBBcat uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. Unfortunately, these headings sometimes use outdated terminology, but once identified they can often provide much more precise search results than using keywords. Examples of LOC Subject Headings:

 

Specially Recommended Periodicals!

Periodical Databases

MLA - for critical interpretations of fiction and poetry, especially

ATLA Religion

IIPA - for performing arts

ProQuest Screen Studies Collection - for film

Historical Abstracts

Hispanic American Periodicals Index

ProQuest Politics

Official UN Documents

Special Topics                                           

Feminism in Cuba, 1898-1958 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Running of the Bulls, by Waldo Peirce, 1927?  (Portland Art Museum)

Primary Sources

Newspapers

                    Latin American Newspapers

                     Hispanic American Newspapers (1808 - 1980)

                     America's Historical Newspapers (1690 - 1922)

                     ProQuest Historical Newspapers (a few major papers, 19th & 20th c.)

                     LA Times (1881 - 1989)

                     Colby Echo (1877 - 2006)

                     New York Times opinion column by Hector Tobár

Archives

Papers of Louis Cons in Harvard University Archives

Cherrie Moraga Papers  at Stanford

Julia Alvarez: Harry Ransom Center, UT Austin    

Finding Aid for the Papers of Héctor Tobar at UCLA

Colombia and the United States, 1948-2010 - part of DNSA

Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Operations ... : Guatemala and the US, 1954-99,  Digital National Security Archive      

DNSA (Digital National Security Archive, explore several collections of documents)  

Feminism in Cuba 1898 - 1958, from Archives Unbound

          

                                                   Interviews

                                                  NPR transcript of interview with Hector Tobár

                                                  Vermont PR transcript of interview with Julia Alvarez

                                                  Ann Patchett Interview with Hector Tobár

 

                     Videos

                     Cherrie Moraga in Her Own Words - Makers      

                     Julia Alvarez, award recipient   

Search

 "Carlos Alfonso Figueroa Morales" and "batallón jaguar"   

"julia alvarez" AND interview*

"This is what I remember about Guatemala" in ProQuest Politics or in OneSearch