Skip to main content

EA 253: Home

Books at Colby

Three Kingdoms in Chinese Literature

Panorama of Departure Herald, painted in Ming Dynasty (1368-1644), unknown artist, Ming Dynasty, Jiajing Emperor's reign (1522–1566 AD), National Palace Museum, China. Modified by LawrenceKhoo

Librarian for East Asian Studies:  Karen Gillum,   kjgillum@colby.edu                                                            Contact me at any time!

Resources for Background Research

General Strategy

  • For background information, use Credo Reference or print dictionaries and encyclopedias

  • Use terminology and facts learned from the background information to search for articles in the Bibliography of Asian StudiesAcademic Search Complete and other databases at right. Articles present an argument on a particular aspect of a topic, not facts alone.

  • Search for books in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking. The longer form of a book provides greater breadth of general information or greater depth of argument.

  • Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find for leads to more

  • Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in

Look for background on Chinese literary theory in --

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism

on Chinese history in --

Cambridge History of China, and Cambridge History of Ancient China

on Chinese art in --

Oxford/Grove Art Online 

on Chinese film in -- 

 Oxford Bibliography of Chinese Film


Databases

Articles in academic journals reflect current scholarly conversation on a given topic.

Scholarly Journals...

  • report original research in a specific discipline
  • use in-text citations and bibliographies
  • typically contain peer-reviewed articles

Look for a sidebar in databases that will allow you to limit your results to scholarly or peer-reviewed journals

Examples of Scholarly Articles:

SURVEY

Contact your Librarian!

If you want more help, feel free to contact me, Karen Gillum, at karen.gillum@colby.edu