Open Digital Primary Source Collections for Art and Visual History
Primary Resources for Art History Research
Primary resources provide evidence to support key claims and arguments in research. This guide defines primary resources, provides evaluation criteria, and offers strategies for finding primary resources in large library catalogs and digital collections.
Explore millions of items from a range of Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, television and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings.
The Harry Ransom Center is among the nation's finest research libraries and digital humanities centers.The collections assembled here document the work of some of our finest writers and artists and provide unprecedented access to the creative process while also helping us understand the historical moment out of which this work emerged.
"The largest single collection of the correspondence and papers of the artist James McNeill Whistler (1834-1903). Over a third of the 7,000 letters are written by Whistler; the remainder are letters he received. An extensive reference library of over 1,000 volumes on Whistler includes some 200 books from the artist’s library, a nearly complete collection of Whistler’s own publications and exhibition catalogues, thousands of his presscuttings and hundreds of photographs."
The World Digital Library (WDL) is a open access project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world. Freely available digital primary sources, in multilingual format, are available from all countries and cultures.