Skip to main content

EN 115 - all sections: COLBY

GETTING STARTED IN THE LIBRARY

Memorial Hall, old Colby campus, 1913


Think Strategically about Your Research

  • Looking up background information first can save you time later - use Credo Reference
  • Use terminology and facts learned from the background information to search for articles in Academic Search Complete and other databases at left
  • Search for books in any of the catalogs Colby has access to, expanding your search with subject linking
  • Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find for leads to more
  • Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in 

Why use Reference sources?

To look for...
definitions, historical context, biographical information

How can you identify a scholarly journal article?                 

Look for...
an abstract, in-text citations, a bibliography. Scholarly Journals report original research in a specific discipline, typically contain peer reviewed articles

 

To contact me, email  kjgillum@colby.edu

SUBJECT HEADINGS

When you search CBBcat, use the hot-linked subject headings in records to lead to lists of more books on the same subject.

From the list of subjects, click on one --

to browse records of books on these subjects.

 

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHIES

In general, the purpose of annotations is to inform a researcher consulting the bibliography on aspects of the cited title, such as

  • From what critical perspective does the writer approach the work?
  • How thorough is the analysis?  Are there omissions or weaknesses in the argument?
  • How does the article contribute to scholarly discourse on the work? (For instance, is it cited by later writers?)

Sample Annotated Bibliography (MLA) Diana Hacker

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography Cornell U. Library

Be sure to follow the directions of your own assignment!

SEARCHING WORLDCAT

When you have time to wait a week or so for some of your books, use WorldCat to extend your search to libraries all over the country. We can even get scans of parts of books from libraries overseas.

From the libraries' homepage, select the tab Books and More, check the circle for WorldCat in the blue box, then the button WorldCat.org.


Enter search terms for keyword searching. Since you have seen  records in CBBcat with subject headings of the form: author Criticism and Interpretation, use these terms initially to begin your search for criticism of Poe or Borges, or any other writer. Look at the panel on the left to see what parameters might be useful in limiting your results. Choosing Print Books, for instance, means you won't waste time looking at eBooks you will not be able to borrow.  Changing the sort from the default Relevance to Date Newest First is also often helpful.

 

 

Select a book by clicking on the title. In the record for the book, click the button Request through ILLiad@Colby. Sign into the ILLiad system with your Colby username and password. The request form should fill in automatically - just click Submit at the bottom.


REQUESTING BOOKS

Record for a Book in CBBcat

Click where the arrow points to request

 

Search the CBB Collections:

in:


Advanced Search
 

Search databases for newspaper, magazine & journal articles:


Search sources related to Colby:

Library of Congress headings for finding books at Colby:

 


 Find more information in guides on selected topics:

 

 

 

CONNECT TO NEXPRESS

When something you search for doesn't come up in CBBcat, try NExpress, catalog for a consortium of academic libraries in the Northeast. Books you request from these schools will come quickly.


When you select a record in the NExpress catalog, find the button to Request this Item in the center of the record.


You will be asked what school you are affiliated with -


then for your name and the barcode on the back of your Colby ID. Type only the numerals, beginning with 25031, not the letters A and B. Books will be delivered to the front desk at Miller and you will be alerted by email.


Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next