Skip to main content

CL 242: CL242

Online Reference Sources

To Find Articles:
Use l'Annee, JSTORand Gnomon to find articles, 
the OCD and EGT for background information - e.g., who was Thyestes

Perseus

This link leads to the beginning of the Orestes.  Branch out to commentaries, dictionaries, bibliography and other texts.

Finding Books

Search the CBB Collections:

in:


Advanced Search

Finding Books on Greek Tragedy - Video

Books on Euripides have call numbers between PA3973 and PA3978, clustered most heavily around PA3978.

Books on Tragedy in general have call numbers between PA3131 and PA3136.

Books

Beginning Your Research

 

 Euripides

 

 

Tragedies of Passion

 

Electra
Iphigeneia at  Aulis
Iphigeneia among the  Taurians
Orestes
Rhesus
Cyclops
Bacchae
Helen

 

Think Strategically About Your Research

  • Looking up background information first can save you time later - use the Oxford Classical Dictionary and Encyclopedia of Greek Tragedy
  • Use terminology and facts learned from the background information to search for articles in l'Annee Philologique and JSTOR
  • Search for books in any of Colby's catalogs, expanding your search with subject linking
  • Investigate the notes and bibliographies of every good source you find for leads to more
  • Think about what sorts of publications the information you need might be published in

If you need help with anything, don't hesitate to contact me:                       kjgillum@colby.edu

Evaluating Sources

Evaluating what you Find

Questions to consider as you read articles or books:

  • What is the main purpose and scope of the article?
  • What is the theoretical basis and currency of the author's argument?
  • What conclusions and observations are reached by the author of the article?
  • What conclusions and observations did you reach as a result of reading this article?
  • How do you expect to use the author's argument in your own paper?


Further guides to evaluating sources:


Identifying Scholarly Articles

Following is a list of some TYPICAL QUALITIES of a scholarly journal article:
  • Article includes a bibliography
  • There are in-text citations (e.g., parenthetical references, endnotes, or footnotes)
  • The author's affiliation or credentials are with a college or university, not, e.g., a media organization
  • The article is written for an audience of fellow scholars in the field, not for a general/popular audience
  • The article is substantial in length, not a brief note on a very specialized point

What is a Peer-Reviewed Article?

Peer review ensures that articles are accurate, use sound methods of investigation, and present logically argued discussions. The process is this:

  •  The author of the article submits it to the journal editor
  • The journal editor sends the article to independent experts in the field (peers).  
  • The experts review and evaluate the quality of the submitted article.
  •  They may suggest revisions. If they find the article lacks scholarly rigor, they may reject it.
  • Only after this review process is the article published in the journal.

Citing and Annotating

Click for Examples of Annotated Bibliography  

 

OWL

 

Research & Citation from The OWL at Purdue

trial

Best Part
Databases: 0 votes (0%)
Catalog: 0 votes (0%)
Strategy: 0 votes (0%)
Citation: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0