Skip to main content

FR 355: Arts Reflecting the Empire

~~~~

ART

For Background 

Grove Dictionary of Art/Oxford Art Online

  David, Coronation of Napoleon

 To Find Images     

   provides more than one million digital images from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

 

Museum Collections Online

Cezanne, Bibemus Quarry

To Find Art History & Criticism

  • Art Full Text
    journals, yearbooks and museum bulletins published from 1984 to the present.
  • Art Index Retrospective
    periodicals covering all aspects of the visual arts, from 1929 to 1984. Includes citations only.
  • Bibliography of the History of Art
    From the Getty Research Institute, a comprehensive index (1975-2007) to art books, periodical articles, essays on art, conference proceedings, & dissertations. International in scope, covering all historical periods and cultures. Includes abstracts.
  • International Bibliography of Art
    Successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art and a companion database to ARTbibliographies Modern
  •   Remember that for most journals, the latest 5 years are not covered in this full-text database

!

LITERATURE

 

Subjects to Search in the Catalog

_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

To Find Literary Criticism

MLA International Bibliography  (Try subject terms: French language literature ; cross-cultural identity ; postcolonialism)

 

                                                                              

Or, look for leads among the book reviews in The French Review, e.g.: the review by James Gilroy on p.1293 of the issue for May, 2011, of L'Afrique du  Siècle des Lumières: savoirs et représentations, ed. by Catherine Gallouet et al. Gilroy says the "essays in this volume study the depiction of sub-Saharan Africans in works written in France in the eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries."

_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

Writers and Movements (Links lead to a variety of sources for quick reference. Explore further in the sites you find helpful!)

Aimé Césaire Victor Hugo    Alexandre Dumas    Assia Djebar   Realism    Dumas fils    Charles Baudelaire     Ahmadou Kourouma    Gustave  Flaubert    Achille Mbembe     Post-Colonialism     Stephane Mallarme     René Depestre   Guy de Maupassant   Cheikh Anta Diop    Honore de Balzac     Arthur Rimbaud    Stendhal   Impressionism     George Sand    Amin Maalouf    Theophile Gautier   Naturalism    Edmond de Goncourt    Jules Verne    Emile Zola    Anatole France   the Decadents      Paul Verlaine   Maryse Condé  Guillaume Apollinaire     Paul Valery     Leconte de Lisle   Romanticism     Linda Lê      

...

MUSIC

 

For Background

 

Oxford Music Online

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music


The Cambridge History of Eighteenth Century Music [BOOK]Edited by Simon P. Keefe (2009) | Bixler Library MUSIC ML195 .C35 2009

For Critical Discussion

  • RILM Abstracts Online
    the most important music research database for locating publications on classical, pop, folk, and jazz music

 

 

For Contemporary Reactions and References

      NCCO  Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive

      Gallica   and Europeana

Classical Composers

Bizet - Carmen

Gounod, Charles, 1818-1893

Berlioz - Romeo et Juliette

Charpentier

Debussy - scores

Offenbach

Saint-Saens - Danse Macabre

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next