Current issues of these popular music magazines and journals are in Bixler Library. Find reviews and articles on musicians and topics by using Colby Libraries' OneSearch, or one of the databases listed to the right.
SPIN cover's current trends and the most significant artists in hip-hop, alternative, pop, and indie music, and often includes interviews with artists, and well as criticism. See the Spin website as well, for more info.
Quarterly journal and extensive website covering contemporary popular music, especially hip-hop, funk and jazz. Current journal ssues in Bixler Library. Request back issues from library storage. Website with news, and added feature at waxpoetics.com.
This is a peer reviewed journal, published three times a year, with articles on rock music and its numerous subgenres. International in scope, Rock Music Studies looks at rock's interaction with other styles, with a variety of disciplinary and theoretical approaches.
Music Research Databases
For a more precise method of researching a topic, use one of the research databases to find articles in academic journals, books, essays / chapters appearing books, music reviews, or dissertations.
...is the most important music research database on classical, pop, folk, and jazz music, as well as interdisciplinary studies on music. Abstracts and citations are drawn from journal articles, books, essays and chapters in books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, dissertations, etc.
World's largest free magazine index covering the rock music press. Can often locate arcticles here that would not turn up on other databases. No direct full text, just citations..you need to search the Colby catalog to find the actual magazine