Skip to main content

GO 131: International Relations: Find Articles

Selected Databases for Locating Journal Articles - current news & historical framework for various countries

Academic Search Complete

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full-text access to scholarly and popular journals in broad areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts for additional titles that are unavailable in full text.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975+)

Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

PAIS International (1915+)

The PAIS International database is concerned with current public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information.  Print and electronic academic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration, and legislation.

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online

CIAO presents full text of research in international affairs from a variety of sources such as conference papers, foundation-funded research projects, policy briefs, working papers, books, and journals.

Historical Abstracts

Provides bibliographical coverage of the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Included are article abstracts from over 2,000 journals published worldwide, plus citations to books and dissertations

JSTOR Online Journals
JSTOR offers archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes images, and is interlinked by citations and references. For most titles, holdings do not include the last 3 to 5 years, so do not use this resource for very current material.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index

The primary database for U.S.-Hispanic and Latin American topics. HAPI cites articles published in English and European languages from more than 400 scholarly journals worldwide.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984

Provides coverage of major social science journals for this time period. 

Your Personal Research Librarian

Bonnie Paige's picture
Bonnie Paige
Miller Library, 107A
Office Hours: Monday 1:30-3 in Miller, Friday 11-12:30 in Diamond 341
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next