Skip to main content

Caribbean Studies-A Companion for Caribbean Literature (EN115): HISTORICAL RESOURCES

A Companion to Caribbean Literature in EN115

COLONIALISM IN THE CARIBBEAN

Reference Sources on French Colonialism in the Caribbean

A Reference Guide to Latin American History: Henderson, Delpar, &  Brungardt, eds.

Miller Reference REF F1410 .R395 2000

Colonization : a Global History / Marc Ferro, translated from the French by K.D. Prithipaul

Miller JV105 .F4713 1997 

Encyclopedia of Emancipation and Abolition in the Transatlantic World-Rodriguez, ed.

E-book

Historical Sources on French, British, and Spanish Colonialism of the Caribbean

Caribbean Views

An online exhibit from the British Museum on the British West Indies, as the islands were known

Digital Library of the Caribbean

A project of the U. of Florida, this collection "is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections".

DeBry's Grand Voyages

Images from the Library of Congress; early illustrations of the European first encounters with the "New World", from such a viewpoint

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database

Primary source documents (maps, rosters) and searchable functions in databases to locate information on the slave trade

Caribbean Studies-Primary Sources Guide from FSU

More excellent resources, compiled by the librarians at Florida State University

COLONIALISM OF WEST AFRICA

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next