Skip to main content

Italian Studies: PRIMARY SOURCES AND TEXTS

Guide for the study of Italian Language and Literature at Colby

Sources and Texts

Medieval and Renaissance

Dartmouth Dante Project

"A searchable full-text database containing more than seventy commentaries on Dante's Divine Comedy - the Commedia"

Decameron Web at Brown

"Includes the text in its established critical edition (Branca), sources, translations, annotations and commentaries, bibliographies, a growing selection of critical and interpretive essays, as well as visual and audio materials."

OVI Project at ARTFL

"The database contains 1960 vernacular texts, the majority of which are dated prior to 1375, the year of Boccaccio's death. The verse and prose works include early masters of Italian literature like Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio, as well as lesser-known and obscure texts by poets, merchants, and medieval chroniclers." Detailed searching instructions on the page.


Images and Archives

Digital Scriptorium at Columbia

Image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts

Warburg Institute

Download digitized medieval and renaissance items from the collection

Archivio di Stato di Firenze

Of particular interest are the digitized Diplomatico archives, collections of parchment documents ranging from the 8th to the 14th century




Sources and Texts 2

Post-Renaissance to the Present

ECCO (Eighteenth Century Collections Online)

Full-text searchable database of over 180,000 titles. Focus is on works published in the UK but includes works from Italy and in Italian

Europa

This database covers political and economic information, including statistics, for more than 250 countries and territories

WESS: Italian

Links provided by the Western European Studies Section of the American Library Association. Includes resources for history and primary documents


                                                                                                     Image c. Corbis

                                                                                    

Engraving from Gustave Dore's 1861 series for the Inferno. The scene depicts the meeting with Plutus in Canto VII.


Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next