Skip to main content

Italian Studies: RESEARCH & CRITICISM

Guide for the study of Italian Language and Literature at Colby

RESEARCH & CRITICISM

What are scholarly journals?
Scholarly journals...

  • report original research in a specific discipline
  • typically contain articles peer reviewed articles

 

How can you identify a scholarly journal article?
 Look for...
  • an abstract 
  • a bibliography
  • in-text citations 
  • specialized language, relevant to the subject area
  • few, if any, images

 

Where can you find peer reviewed journal articles, essays & books?

Find books, essays and journal articles in MLA International Bibliography 

MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative literary scholarship published in books and academic journals.  MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog.  If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your ILLiad Account.
 

Tips for Using MLA International Bibliography

1. Take advantage of folders and the ability to export citations in MLA format or direct export to RefWorks.

2. Set search limits before you begin searching so that ALL your results are from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals or books. (What does this look like?)

3. Explore MLA's indexes to find articles that fall into very specific parameters. Also, try using Names as Subjects and the Thesaurus to pinpoint MLA-specific subject areas.

4. Once you've generated a results list, further refine your search by adding Subject Terms.

5. NEVER GIVE UP! Almost every article will be available to you either online, on mcrofilm, in print, or through Interlibrary Loan (My ILLiad Account). If something looks good to you, be persistent in your hunt.

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next