Skip to main content
















Voyage of the Pequod, a literary map by Everett Henry based on Moby Dick. Published between  1953 and 1964 by the Harris-Seybold Company of Cleveland. Available online at the Library of Congress.


Background Research

Scribner Writers Series  [Database]
Essay on the life and works of Herman Melville, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies  

You'll also want to check out...

Literature Resource Center [DATABASE] Critical Essays on Herman Melville

The New Cambridge Companion to Herman Melville [E-BOOK] Edited by Robert S. Levine, Cambridge University Press

Browse all Colby Materials on Herman Melville

Interpretation and Criticism

Journal Articles

Books, essays, and journal articles indexed in MLA International Bibliography  [Database]

MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative Wharton scholarship published in books and academic journals.  MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog.  If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your ILLiad Account.

Specific Articles...

"Two Discoveries Concerning Herman Melville," Proceedings of the Massachusetts Historical Society, 1975, [JSTOR]

"Property and Selfhood in Herman Melville's Pierre,"  Jeffory A. Clymer, Ninettenth-Century Literature, 2006 [JSTOR]



Books on Research and Criticism on Herman Melville at Colby Libraries

Specific Titles...

Melville: Fashioning in Modernity [BOOK] Stephen Matterson , 2014, PS2387 .M34 2014  

African Culture and Melville's Art: the creative process in Benito Cereno and Moby-Dick [BOOK] Sterling Stucky, 2009,  PS2387 .S78 2009  

Melville, Mapping and Globalization: Literary Cartography in the American Baroque Writer [BOOK] Robert T. Tally Jr., 2009,  PS2387 .T35 200 

Herman Melville

Frontispiece to Journal Up the Straits. Ca. 1860. Available online at the Library of Congress.

Brief biography 

Literary & topical timeline 

Bibliography of works


Dates: 1819-1891

Nationality: American

Literary Periods: 

Romantic Period,

American Naturalistic and Symbolistic Period, 1900-1930

Modernist Period, 1899-1945

Twentieth Century, 1900-1999


Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next