Skip to main content

AUTHORS: EMILY DICKINSON

EMILY DICKINSON


Image Source: Wikicommons


Brief Biography 

Bibliography of Works


Dates: 1830-1886
Nationality: American/North American

Literary Periods: American Realistic Period, 1865-1900; Nineteenth Century, 1800-1899
Literary Movements: American Romanticism

BOOKS IN CBB LIBRARIES

MULTIMEDIA

Only recently have scholars recognized the importance of the Civil War in Emily Dickinson's life and poetic experience. Of the 1789 poems that she wrote during her lifetime, 989 of them seem to have been written during the Civil War Year. This clip is taken from Angles of a Landscape: Seeing New Englandly.

 

FAMOUS WORDS

Image from NewYorkCity_Literary_Tours

REFERENCE AND BACKGROUND INFORMATION

 
    

Essays on the life and works of Emily Dickinson, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies

Archives: Bibliography and original manuscripts, letters, and photographs

You'll also want to check out...

RESEARCH & CRITICISM

Books, essays, and journal articles indexed in MLA International Bibliography  [Database] MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative Barthes scholarship published in books and academic journals.

MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers and the Colby College Libraries catalog.  

If you discover books or articles through MLA that are not available at Colby or through our lending partners, please request these items using your ILLiad Account.

            

Subject searches within the Colby catalog:

ACADEMIC PAPERS

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next