Skip to main content

AUTHORS: EDGAR ALLAN POE

EDGAR ALLAN POE

Dates of Birth/Death: 1809-1849

Nationality: American

Literary Periods: 

American Romantic Period, 1830-1865

Nineteenth Century, 1800-1899

Literary Movements: 

American Romanticism

STUDY GUIDES

Student Companion to Edgar Allan Poe

Tony Magistrale, 2001

Edgar Allan Poe Comprehensive Research and Study Guide
edited and with an introduction by Harold Bloom

 

Raven

REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Scribner Writers Series
Essay on the life and works of Edgar Allan Poe, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies  

You'll also want to check out...

Scribner Writers alternative link

 

 

 

RESEARCH & CRITICISM

Find books, essays and journal articles in MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative scholarship on Edgar allan Poe from books and academic journals.  MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers.
 

You'll also want to check out...

PRIMARY SOURCES

Papers/Archival Collections

  • University of Texas (M. L. Stark Library and Humanities Research Center--
    the Koerster Collection)
  • Pierpont Morgan Library, New York
  • Free Library of Philadelphia (the Richard Gimbel Collection)
  • Henry E. Huntington Library and Art Gallery, San Marino, California
  • Indiana University (Lilly Collection)
  • New York Public Library (Manuscript Division and the Berg Collection)
  • University of Virginia (Ingram Collection)
  • Enoch Pratt Free Library, Baltimore
  • Poe Foundation, Richmond (State Library of Virginia)
  • Boston Public Library (Griswold Papers)
  • Library of Congress (Ellis and Allan Papers)
  • Columbia University Libraries
  • Duke University Library (Whitty Collection)
  • Yale University, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library
     

You'll also want to check out...

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next