Skip to main content

American History: Native American Studies

In the Catalog....

Use these search terms:

"Indians of North America"

"Algonquin" names of tribes, languages

 The Subject term INDIANS OF NORTH AMERICA can be subdivided by these terms

-- Land Tenure

--Government Relatins

--First Contact with Europeans

--Folklore

--Social Life and Customs

--Treaties

--Languages

--Legal Status, Laws, etd.

--Medicine

--Politics and Government

--Religion

--Social Conditions

Statistics

American Indian and Alaska Native Populations (U.S. Census Bureau)

 

American Indian and Alaska Native Data Links (U.S. Census Bureau)

Statistical Record of Native North Americans (1995)

Miller Reference E98.P76 S73

Tiller's Guide to Indian Country: Economic Profiles of American Indian Reservations

Miller Ref 93.T55 2005

Newspapers

Indian Country Today

Current paper copy available with current newspapers

News From Indian Country

NFIC is a newspaper overseen by its readers who contribute news and information from through-out North America

Ethnic Newswatch

A full-text database of newspapers and magazines of the ethnic and minority press in America, including Native Americans

Histories & Chronology

The Cambridge Histories of the Native Peoples of the Americas

Handbook of North American Indians

Multi-volume work (in progress) covering all aspects of Native American Indians' history, life, and culture

Miller Reference E98.P76 S73

Chronology of Native North American History: From Pre-Columbian Times to the Present

Miller Reference E77.C555 1994

Indexes

America History and Life

Provides article abstracts on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from the prehistoric era to the present, drawn from international periodicals dating back to 1954.  For world history excluding the U.S. and Canada, see Historical Abstracts below.

Bibliography of Native North Americans

A bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.  Includes a wide range of topics, such as archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.  Contains citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the U.S. and Canada.  Dates of coverage for included content range from the 16th century to the present.

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index

The primary database for U.S.-Hispanic and Latin American topics.

Ethnic NewsWatch

A full-text database of newspapers and magazines of the ethnic and minority press in America.

Indian & White Relations

ONLINE

Sabin Americana Digital Archive

Sabin Americana is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s containing information about North, Central and South America, the Arctic and Antarctica and the West Indies. This resource offers original accounts of exploration, pioneering, settlement, the western movement, military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition.

 

American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries' Letters, 1833-1893

Contains over 40,000 images of American Presbyterian correspondence concerning missionary work with Native American tribes from 1833 to 1893.

 

American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism

This collection includes the extensive FBI documentation on the evolution of American Indian Movement (AIM) as an organization of social protest. In addition, there is documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee Stand-off. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide unparalleled insight into the motives, actions, and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides full-text searchable access to the digital images of 150,000 books and other materials published during the 18th Century.

American State Papers, 1789-1838

Legislative and executive documents, many originating from between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817 below.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980)

Database of texts from the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.  Broad subject "Indian Affairs" pulls documents together for easy view.

Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties

Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties, compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII). The work was first published in 1903-04 by the U.S. Government Printing Office.

 

 

PRINT

The American Indian and the United States: A Documentary History

Includes  Reports of the Commissioners of Indian Affairs, congressional debates, acts, ordinances and proclamations, treaties and legal decisions.

Miller Reference E93 .W27 vol 1-4

Guide to American Indian Documents in the Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1899 

Miller Reference KF8201.A1 J63

 

Documents of American Indian Diplomacy: Treaties, Agreements, and Conventions, 1775-1979

Miller Reference KF8202 1999 vol 1-2

Handbook of North American Indians: History of Indian-White Relations (vol.4)

Miller Reference E77.H25 vol. 4

Handbook of the American Frontier: Four Centuries of Indian-White Relationships, (5 vols)

Each volume 1-4 covers a distinct geographical region.  Vol 5 inlcudes a detailed chronology and index.

Miller Reference E76.2 H43 1987 v.1-5

 

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next