Skip to main content

American History: Civil War

Periodicals of the Time

Harpweek - The Civil War Era: 1857-1865 (also includes Reconstruction and After to 1912.

This database corresponds to Harper’s Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.

Tab to Early Newspapers & Periodicals for additional titles.

War of the Rebellion

The War of the Rebellion: a Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies

Print edition is held in Miller Compact Shelves W 45.5 with Supplement in stacks E464.U61.
 

 Official records of the Union and Confederate Navies in the War of the Rebellion

The Medical and Surgical History of the Civil War

Facsim. of: The medical and surgical history of the War of the Rebellion (1861-65) / prepared in accordance with acts of Congress, under the direction of Surgeon General Joseph K. Barnes, United States Army. Washington : Governtment Printing Office, 1870.
 

Journal of the Congress of the Confederate States of America

 Every Day of the Civil War:  A Chronological Encyclopedia

Although the book provides a daily chronicle of the combat, it is written in narrative form to give readers some continuity as they move from skirmish to skirmish. During the course of the saga, the book also chronicles the life spans of more than 600 Union and Confederate vessels, documenting when possible the time of each vessels acquisition, commissioning, major engagements, and decommissioning. Seven appendices provide lists of prominent Union and Confederate officers, primary naval actions, and Medal of Honor recipients from 1863 to 1865.

First Hand Accounts

United States History Civil War 1861 1865 Personal Narratives (Search of the Colby Library Catalog by subject)

American Civil War Collection at the Electronic Text Center, University of Virginia [Confederate & Union]

Maine Memory Network "Civil War Letters"

University of Virginia Special Collections, Manuscripts and Archives

You can conduct full-text searches by keyword (i.e Bull Run, Spotsylvania) within the collection. A majority of the Civil War diaries have been transcribed.

Images

Civil War Photographs from the Library of Congress, Including the Mathew Brady studio

Contains 1,118 photographs. Most of the images were made under the supervision of Mathew B. Brady, and include scenes of military personnel, preparations for battle, and battle after-effects. The collection also includes portraits of both Confederate and Union officers, and a selection of enlisted men. Searchable by Keyword.

Civil War Treasures from the New York Historical Society

This Library of Congress project is searchable by keyword and contains recruiting posters for New York City regiments of volunteers; stereographic views documenting the mustering of soldiers and of popular support for the Union; photography showing the war's impact, both in the north and south; and drawings and writings by ordinary soldiers on both sides.

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next