Skip to main content

American History: Colonial and Revolutionary America

Background Materials

Encyclopedia of Colonial & Revolutionary America  Ref E188 .E63 1990

Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies  Ref E45 .E53 1993 v.1-3

Historical Dictionary of the American Revolution  Ref E209 .M36 1999

Contemporary Publications

ONLINE

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800

This  digital collection contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period.   Included are a vast range of publications, including advertisements, almanacs, bibles, broadsides, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, pamphlets, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, treaties and more.

Early American Imprints, Series II Library Company of Philadelphia Supplement: 1801-1819

Early English Books Online

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides full-text searchable access to the digital images of 150,000 books and other materials published during the 18th Century. Based on the English Short Title Catalog bibliography, it includes English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

Sabin Americana Digital Archive

Sabin Americana is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s containing information about North, Central and South America, the Arctic and Antarctica and the West Indies. This resource offers original accounts of exploration, pioneering, settlement, the western movement, military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition.

John Trumball, Declaration of Independence

Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention

Search the papers of personages of the time.  Many are included in Early American Imprints above, but print copies may also be available.

PRINT

Writings Of George Washington From The Original Manuscript Sources 1745 1799  (also available online via Making of America)

Miller Compact Shelv Docs; Y 3 W 27 2:13

Miller Stacks: E312.1931 v.1-10

                                              J.Trumball, Declaration of Independence

Use Library of Congress Subject Headings:

     "United States History Revolution 1775-1783 - Sources"

     "United States History Revolution 1775-1783 - Biography"

Remember to search CBBcat, MaineCat, as well as national catalogs such as WorldCat and the CRL (Center for Research Libraries).

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next