Skip to main content

American History: Historic Documents

Declaration Of Independence

Constitution of the U.S.

Collections of Historic Documents

Pre-18th Century documents to 21st Cenutry includes treaties, colonial charters, presidential papers, acts.


Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes twelve thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

Foreign Relations of the United States

The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. The series is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian and printed volumes are available from the Government Printing Office.  This digitized collection is incomplete. Volumes from the Truman Presidency on are on the Dept. of State Web site.  The print series is available in Colby's Documents collection S 1.1 +

FRUS begins with the administration of Abraham Lincoln in 1861. There are two cumulative indexes covering 1861-1899 and 1900-1918. The organization of FRUS is generally chronological, but the dates of the volumes do not necessarily reflect the dates of documentary history. For example, the volumes for 1900-1918 do not include the records dealing with World War I or the Russian Revolution. Each volume has a subject and author index.

Emancipation Proclamation

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next