Skip to main content

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: HI 231

Alternatives to Wikipedia

ONLINE

REF E 176 .D565 1999  American National Biography  also online

Early American Imprints, Series I:  Evans, 1639-1800  A digitized full-text collection of books, pamphlets and periodicals published in the United States from 1639 to 1800. It is a collection of primary source material (more than 36,000 titles when complete) on all aspects of 17th and 18th century life in America and Europe (especially England) based on Charles Evans American Bibliography, which listed all known publications in this period.

Early American Imprints, Series II:  Shaw & Shoemaker, 1801-1819  Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.  Chronicles the people, ideas and events behind the early political, social, cultural and geographic growth of the United States.

Women and Social Movements in the U.S.  1600-2000  A resource for primary source documents covering the history of women in social movements in the U.S. from 1600 to 2000, this collection provides information on women's reform activities by bringing together books, images, and full-text documents as well as scholarly essays, a chronology of U.S. women's history, a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a bibliography, and teaching tools.

Encyclopedia of African American Culture & History  The online version of a 5-volume set and a supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day, using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces.

Harper's Weekly from 1857 through 1912.

REF DS 102.8 .E496 2007  Encyclopedia Judaica  also online

Jewish Women:  A Comprehensive Encyclopedia

 

 

 

PRINT

REF HQ 1410 .W64  Women's History Sources  (for collections of documents)

REF HQ 1410 .H36 2000  Handbook of American Women's History

REF HQ 1185 .E63 2005  Encyclopedia of Women's Autobiographies

REF HQ 1236 .R29 2001   Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers       also online

REF BF 1566 .G85 1999  Encyclopedia of Witches and Witchcraft

REF E 188 .E63 1990  The Encyclopedia of Colonial and Revolutionary America

REF DS 115.2 .J49 1997  Jewish Women in America

REF E 184 .A1 H35  Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups

REF E 184 .A1 A63448 1997b  American Immigrant Cultures

REF F 128.3 .E75 1995  Encyclopedia of New York City

REF E 628 .H37 2007  Women During the Civil War:  An Encyclopedia

REF E 441 .D53 1988  Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery

REF F 207.7 .E52  Encyclopedia of Southern History

REF F 209 .E53 1989  Encyclopedia of Southern Culture     also online

REF HQ 1438 .W45 E53 2003  Encyclopedia of Women in the American West

REF F 591 .E485 1996  Encyclopedia of the American West      also online

 

Your Librarian

Marilyn R. Pukkila's picture
Marilyn R. Pukkila
Contact:
Miller Library 107D
Colby College
207-859-5145
Office hours: in Miller: W 1:30-3:30
in Diamond 207: T 3:30-5
and by appointment in Miller M-F
NO set office hours in January
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next