Skip to main content

African-American Studies: Literature & Arts (Online)

Collections and Indexes

Literature Online 

Paul Laurence Dunbar, 1872-1906

African American Poetry

The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry's 'Bars Fights', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.

Twentieth-Century African American Poetry

A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.

Digital Schomburg African American Women Writers of the 19th Century

A digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers. A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920. 

MLA Bibliography

Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Includes volumes on Afro-American writers and poets

Your Librarian

Marilyn R. Pukkila's picture
Marilyn R. Pukkila
Contact:
Miller Library 107D
Colby College
207-859-5145
Office hours: in Miller: W 1:30-3:30
in Diamond 207: T 3:30-5
and by appointment in Miller M-F
NO set office hours in January
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next