Associations, Colleges, and Universities
- American Civil Liberties Union--the ACLU page is an excellent source for press reports on various cases around the country.
- Hatewatch--this site provides information about hate groups on the Internet, as well as information about organizations which seek to eliminate bigotry,violence, and prejudice motivated by hate.
- Institute for Global Communications--news and links to PeaceNet, EcoNet, LaborNet, ConflictNet, and WomansNet,compiled by an Internet service provider. Some 400 member organizationsare linked to this page.
- The Century Foundation
- A self-described "progressive" think tank aiming to "persuade those who care about issues such as economic inequality, population aging,and the public's discontent with government and politics that significant improvements are possible even when the mainstream says they are not."
- Institute for Research on Poverty --A Wisconsin institute, with a useful list of lists.
- National Coalition for the Homeless --Articles, events, bibliographies, and links.
- Yahoo's Poverty Links --Despite the commercialism, a good source for a variety of links.
Race, Ethnicity, and Nationality
Other Education Sites
Founded in 1962, the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) archives and facilitates online public access to social science data. The ICPSR Data Archiving Report: Data Releases chronicles the yearly progress of ICPSR's data release activities by providing information on each dataset made publicly available. Details include title, principal investigator(s), processing level, number of data files, whether the dataset was a new acquisition or an update of a dataset already in the ICPSR archive, and the release date.
- PBS Learning Media
PBS LearningMedia™ offers direct access to thousands of classroom-ready, curriculum-targeted digital resources. Resources are aligned to Common Core and national standards and include videos and interactives, as well as audio, documents, and in-depth lesson plans. You can browse by standards, grade level, subject area, and special collections. You can also share resources with your class and colleagues through folders and social media. PBS LearningMedia’s basic service is free for PreK-12 educators. (adopted from site Help statement)
- DPLA Primary Source Sets
"DPLA [Digital Public Library of America] Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop their critical thinking skills by exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. Each set includes an overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide. These sets were created and reviewed by the teachers on the DPLA's Education Advisory Committee." [From the website]
- Educational Review -- an e-journal of book reviews in education scholarship and practice
- Women and Social Movements in the U.S. 1600-2000
A resource for primary source documents covering the history of women in social movements in the U.S. from 1600 to 2000, this collection provides information on women's reform activities by bringing together books, images, and full-text documents as well as scholarly essays, a chronology of U.S. women's history, a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a bibliography, and teaching tools.