Skip to main content

Anthropology: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Africa Portal
        An online knowledge resource for policy-related issues in Africa. It is managed by the Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI) and the South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA). Themes include food security, economic development, health, migration, climate change, peace and security, regional integration, natural resources, conflict resolution, energy and governance.  Full text access to over 5500 research publications on Africa by African researchers, plus an Experts Directory and an Announcements page.

American Song

The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.

Farber Gravestone Collection

The Farber Gravestone Collection is an unusual resource containing over 13,500 images documenting the sculpture on more than 9,000 gravestones, most of which were made prior to 1800, in the Northeastern part of the United States.

Maine Jewish History Project Collections

Kennebec County Interviews - A collection of interviews conducted to explore the Jewish community in Maine.
Levine Family of Waterville - A collection of scrapbooks pertaining to this project.

Maine Memory Network

The Maine Memory Network, a project of the Maine Historical Society, provides access to thousands of historical items belonging to over 260 organizations from across Maine.

Smithsonian Institution

Search over 8.6 million catalog records of museum objects, and library & archives materials. More than 1,200,000 of these records contain online images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other online resources.

Smithsonian Global Sound

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000

Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 112 document projects and archives with 4,450 documents and more than 155,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,300 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next