Skip to main content

Religious Studies: Other Resources (Online)

Associations and Additional Web Sites

Associations, Organizations, Departments

Additional Web Sites

Academic Info: Religion Gateway
Also an excellent starting place for religious research on the Web.

Adherents.com
Statistics on the size and location of different faith groups around the world.

Jewish Women's Archive
An extensive array of curricula and other educational materials, a variety of online exhibits, a blog, a growing collection of reminiscences of recently deceased Jewish women, and a myriad of other resources for anyone interested in the experiences of American Jewish women, both celebrated and unheralded.

Jews in America

"The Portal to Jewish American History is a "one stop shop" for researchers, students, and interested members of the public to access archival and digital collections on American Jewish History. Thanks to a generous grant from the Righteous Persons Foundation, this Alpha test site has been established which houses data on the collections of a number of important American Jewish history collections, nationwide. This growing site will help repositories of all sizes expand access to their works. Researchers will be able to find similar collections in disparate repositories. Web users will be able to easily discover digitized collections in an organized fashion. The Portal aims to enrich the community of academics, educators, students, and other researchers by exposing the amazing materials available to those studying American Jewish history." -- from the website.

Martin Luther King Jr. Research and Education Institute
Extensive online archive of MLK materials, plus information about the Institute and its ongoing work for peace, justice, and reconciliation.  Includes the King Online Encyclopedia.

Ontario Consultants on Religious Tolerance
Descriptions of religions, spiritualities, and philosophical paths, with a focus on the intersections of religions and societies.

Quaker Faith and Practice (British edition)
The Society of Friends (Quakers) was founded in England, and so their edition of the Faith and Practice is a good place to look for specific Quaker values, behaviors, and beliefs.

The Revised Common Lectionary
A guideline for date- or occasion- appropriate scriptural readings. This is primarily a Protestant-centered online lectionary provided by the Vanderbilt Divinity School.

Rutgers University Virtual Religion Index
Religious societies, academic and research organizations, seminaries, research tools, etc.

Your Librarian

Marilyn R. Pukkila's picture
Marilyn R. Pukkila
Contact:
Miller Library 107D
Colby College
207-859-5145
Office hours: in Miller: W 1:30-3:30
in Diamond 207: T 3:30-5
and by appointment in Miller M-F
NO set office hours in January
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next