Skip to main content

Religious Studies: Encyclopedias (Online & Print)

General Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Religion 2nd Edition

This is a second edition of Eliade's famous work.  Essential coverage of all aspects of religion.

Credo General Reference 

A search engine covering hundreds of reference works, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauruses, and books of quotations, plus subject-specific titles covering topics such as arts, business, history, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, and technology.

 

REF BL 31 .E46 1987
Eliade, Mircea, ed. The Encyclopedia of Religion. NY: Macmillan, 1987

REF BL 82 .S58 2002
Beversluis, Joel D., ed. A Source Book of the World's Religions. NY: Global Education Associates, 2002.

REF BL 1005 .L4813 1989
Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion. Boston: Shambhala, 1989.

REF BL 311 .G6
Grimal, Pierre, ed. Larousse World Mythology. NY: G.P.Putnam's Sons, 1965.

REF BL 458 .E52 2006
Keller, Rosemary Skinner & Ruether, Rosemary Radford, eds. Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America. Bloomington:  Indiana U.P., 2006.

REF BL 631 .E63 2000
Johnston, William M., ed. Encyclopedia of Monasticism. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000.

REF BL 795 .H6 C65 1998
Cassell's Encyclopedia of Queer Myth, Symbol, and Spirit. NY: Cassell, 1998.

REF BL 2525 .L49 2002
Lewis, James R. The Encyclopedia of Cults, Sects, and New Religions.  2d ed. NY: Prometheus Books, 2002.

Your Librarian

Marilyn R. Pukkila's picture
Marilyn R. Pukkila
Contact:
Miller Library 107D
Colby College
207-859-5145
Office hours: in Miller: W 1:30-3:30
in Diamond 207: T 3:30-5
and by appointment in Miller M-F
NO set office hours in January
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next