Skip to main content

History: Southeast Asian History

Starting Points

Thailand: Coastal forest and cliffs, Hat Chao Mai National Park, Trang Province / Pictures from History/David Henley / Bridgeman Images

Thailand: Coastal forest and cliffs, Hat Chao Mai National Park, Trang Province / Pictures from History/David Henley / Bridgeman Images

‚ÄčOxford Scholarship Online 

Online access to a variety of texts; not all of these will be "unlocked" for you to read online, but you can still look for them in print.

Cambridge Histories Online 

Online access to texts in the Cambridge Histories series.  Under “Regional History” there are two volumes for The History of Southeast Asia.

Credo General Reference 

A search engine covering hundreds of reference works, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauruses, and books of quotations, plus subject-specific titles covering topics such as arts, business, history, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, and technology.

Encyclopedia of Islam 

An online encyclopedia covering current knowledge of the Islamic world, including articles on the history of Islam, the Muslim people, and Islamic theology.

Encyclopedia of Religion 

An online edition of the reference work on religion and its place in everyday life across world cultures.

Journal Article Indexes

The Chocolate Hills or Tsokolateng Burol, Bohol Province, Philippines (photo) / © Sergi Reboredo / Bridgeman Images

Bibliography of Asian Studies 

Coverage of East, Southeast, and South Asia works in western languages from 1971 to the present, with a focus on the humanities and the social sciences.

Index Islamicus 

Index of literature on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world, produced by an editorial team at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London.  Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam.

Historical Abstracts 

World history from 1450 to the present, including abstracts of articles from 2000 journals published from 1954 to the present.

ATLA Religion Database 

Religious and theological literature, including world religions and social issues. Articles from 1949 to the present.

EconLit 

Over 120 years of economics literature, including journal articles, books, book reviews, working papers, and dissertations. Subtopics include economic and monetary theory, labor economics, and international, regional, and urban economics.

Philosopher's Index

Covers over 300 journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields. It is a major source of information in the areas of aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics: it is also a rich source of material on the philosophy of various disciplines, such as education, history, law, and religion.  It runs from 1940 to the present.

MLA International Bibliography 

Literature, language, folklore, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing, as well as rhetoric and composition, from 1926 to the present.

Primary Sources

Holy Caves of Pak Ou along the Mekong River, Luang Prabang, Laos (photo) / © Stefano Baldini / Bridgeman Images

Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange 

British and American government documents plus missionaries' journals are primary sources on relations between East Asia and the West during the 19th century.

Digital National Security Archives

A collection of declassified documents on US foreign and military policy since 1945. Included are presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, confidential letters, emails, and other secret material.

America in Protest: The Vietnam Veterans Against the War 

A collection of FBI documents -- including newsletters, position papers, and historical overviews -- pertaining to American antiwar groups in the 1960s and '70s, focusing especially on the Vietnam Veterans Against the War.

Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975 

"This collection includes news reports from the Associated Press Saigon Bureau on South Vietnamese and U.S. military and political activity in Vietnam from 1953 to 1972. These documents are organized chronologically... The records span the years 1953 to 1972, with the bulk of the material concentrated in the period 1960 to 1972." [taken from the database]

British Periodicals Collections 

Scanned versions of the full texts of over 500 British periodicals dating from the 17th century to the early 20th, with coverage of topics such as literature, science, and the arts.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) 

Online access to over 180,000 books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides, and other publications from the 18th century, primarily in the English language.

HathiTrust 

A digital library containing assets from over 100 research libraries, with document types including books, images, images, music scores, newspapers, and videos.  These will be both primary and secondary resources, depending on their date of publication.

Newspapers and Media, Historical and Contemporary

Rice Fields near Banteay Srei, Cambodia (photo) / © Sergi Reboredo / Bridgeman Images

World Newspaper Archive, South Asia 

South Asian Newspapers provides fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from 1864-1922.

FBIS Daily Reports (Foreign Broadcast Information Service)

Translations of foreign views and perspectives on historical events, from 1941-1996 (in progress). 

OnlineNewspapers.com

Current and recent issues of newspapers in various languages (including English-language papers from other nations); dates vary, but are mostly within the last 20 years or so.

Burney Collection (17th-18th Burney Collection Newspapers) 

English-language newspapers from Barbados, England, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Netherlands, Scotland, and the U.S.

19th Century British Newspapers 

Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-2007) 

Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003) 

Online access to full-color digitized versions of every issue of the Illustrated London News from 1842 to 2003.

19th Century Masterfile 

A metasearch of 19th- and early 20th-century U.S. and British periodicals focusing on subjects such as politics, law, religion, literature, the arts, social issues, and popular culture.

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 

A searchable collection of historical U.S. newspapers spanning the period of 1690 to 1922, including thousands of small-town papers from all 50 states.

Ethnic Newswatch 

Comprehensive full text of newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and native press in the United States; it covers from 1959 to the present.

Historical Newspapers

This link will take you to the Historical Newspapers LibGuide, with more information on various newspaper collections (such as international).

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next