Skip to main content

Eighteenth Century English Literature: APHRA BEHN

APHRA BEHN


Image from Literature Online (LION)

Dates: ca.1640-1689
Nationality: British/English

Literary Periods: 
Neoclassical Period, 1660-1785

Restoration Period, 1660-1700

HEADER

REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Scribner Writers Series
Essay on the life and works of Aphra Behn, ccomplete works and suggested reading bibliographies  

You'll also want to check out...

 

RESEARCH & CRITICISM

Find books, essays and journal articles in MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative scholarship on Aphra Behn from books and academic journals.  MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers.
 

You'll also want to check out...

PRIMARY SOURCES: TEXTS

The Works of Aphra Behn edited by Janet Todd (1992)
This seven volume work is available in Miller Library PR3317 .A6 1992

PRIMARY SOURCES: NEWSPAPERS

PRIMARY SOURCES: ARCHIVAL COLLECTIONS

"The Bodleian Library at Oxford has a manuscript copy of Behn's play, The Younger Brother. The Public Record Office in London has letters and documents regarding Behn's assignment as a spy for King Charles II in Antwerp. There are no other known papers or manuscripts surviving." -DLB

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next