Skip to main content

Eighteenth Century English Literature: FRANCES BURNEY

FRANCES "FANNY" BURNEY

AKA: Madam D'Arblay,  Fanny Burney
Dates: 1752-1840
Nationality: British/English

Literary Periods: 
Eighteenth Century, 1700-1799
Nineteenth Century, 1800-1899
Romantic Period, 1780-1837

Literary Movements: 
Romanticism 1780-1837

MORE BIOGRAPHY

FANNY BURNEY MEETS JERRY SPRINGER

A preview for Magis Theatre Company's production of The Whitlings in 2008

HEADER

"Frances Burney (1752-1840), wrote several popular novels in the late eighteenth century. Her characterizations of women and society influenced a number of subsequent authors, including Jane Austen (1775-1817) and William Makepeace Thackeray (1811-1863)."  -Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO)

REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Scribner Writers Series
Essay on the life and works of Frances (Fanny) Burney, complete works and suggested reading bibliographies  

 

You'll also want to check out...
 

RESEARCH & CRITICISM

Find books, essays and journal articles in MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative scholarship on Frances Burney from books and academic journals.  MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers.
 

You'll also want to check out...

PRIMARY SOURCES: TEXTS ONLINE

Camilla recovering from her swoon, illustration of a scene from Camilla, or A Picture of Youth, published in 1796.
Illustration by Henry Singleton, 1766-1839 (oil on canvas). 
DocumentType: Painting Source: Bridgeman Art Library Database: Ecco

PRIMARY SOURCES: ARCHIVAL COLLECTIONS

"Burney is the first important novelist whose drafts of fiction survive in any quantity. The Burneys were all prolific letter writers and diary keepers, and every major library houses some Burney material. Some letters and other papers remain in private hands." -DLB  You will find the major collections of Burneyana listed below.

PRIMARY SOURCES: NEWSPAPERS

WEB

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next