Skip to main content

LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES: Pre-Columbian

This guide contains resources and links related to South America, Central America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Latino(a) communities in the U.S.

INFORMATION PORTALS

For even more resources, check out these Colby Library Guides:

REFERENCE MATERIALS

  •  Credo REFERENCE   (includes Routledge Encyclopedia of Cultural and Social Anthropology, Encyclopedia of Archeology & other works)

FINDING BOOKS

2nd tab down: Books & More
SEARCH the Entire CBB Collection, or just Colby.
  in: 

Other Catalogs:

Materials not available at Colby or our partner institutions can often be obtained through ILLiad, our interlibrary loan service.

FILMS

To find more films, search CBBcat (More Search Options or Advanced Search) changing "Search Entire CBB Collections" in the drop down menu to "Video/DVD/Streaming."

FINDING ARTICLES

‚ÄčPhoto: Palenque (Mexico). Source: Brongaeh, Flickr.

Many databases allow you to check a box to narrow your results only to articles in academic journals, which are by and for scholars.

Scholarly or Academic journals...

  • report original research in a specific discipline
  • use in-text citations and bibliographies
  • typically contain peer-reviewed articles

FINDING ARTICLES:

Other Databases:

SEARCHING TIPS

Doing BOTH Keyword and Subject searches can help you find better results!

KEYWORD SEARCH

  • Experiment with synonyms and related terms
  • Use an asterisk to stand in for letter variations  (maya*  = maya, mayan, mayans)
  • Use quotation marks to "glue together" a phrase  ("Central America")

Use background reference materials to identify alternative keywords. Find additional keywords in the indexes of books and within articles.

SUBJECT SEARCH

Find one good item? Look at its item record to see if there are Subject Headings. Click on these links to find similar items. CBBcat uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. Unfortunately, these headings sometimes use outdated terminology, but once identified they can often provide much more precise search results than using keywords. Examples of LOC Subject Headings:

  • Indians of Mexico -- Antiquities
  • South America -- Antiquities
  • Andes Region -- Antiquities -- Catalogs
  • Maya art
  • Mayan languages -- Writing
  • Inca architecture
  • Aztec painting
  • Tzotzil Indians -- Folklore
  • Totonac Architecture

Searching shortened LOC headings (Inca instead of Inca Architecture), using Subject in the drop-down menu (instead of keyword), can take you inside the LOC Subject Tree. This can be a great way to browse and explore topics.

OneSearch

OneSearch: A discovery tool. Use OneSearch to find articles, books and other materials in one search.  It is best used as a supplementary tool. Check CBBcat and appropriate databases first.

     Advanced Search

ORDERING BOOKS

To order books from the Colby Storage Facility, Bates or Bowdoin:

Click on  
at top of the item record.

Enter your name and bar code number (omit beginning and ending letters) from your Student ID or Library Card.

You will be notified by email when your request arrives.

Course Librarian

Laine Thielstrom's picture
Laine Thielstrom
Contact:
esthiels@colby.edu

Please don't hesitate to come to me for assistance or questions!
Email me your best dates/times to meet or stop by my office, Miller Library 107C.

Spring 2018 Office Hours:
Tuesdays: 1-2:30pm
Wednesdays: 1-2:30pm
(except 5/8 12-1:30pm)
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next