Skip to main content

PL 213 Philosophical Perspectives on Race: Alternatives to Wikipedia

Alternatives to Wikipedia

General Sources

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History   REF E 185 .E54 2006  Also available online

Encyclopedia of Latina American History and Culture  Another online encyclopedia

Columbia Documentary History of Race and Ethnicity in America  REF E 184 .A1 C57 2004  Letters, speeches, legal cases (summaries), and other documents from 1600-2000.  Topics include immigration, DuBois, NAACP, race riots, the "fallacy of race", etc.

Historical Statistics of Black Amercia  REF E 185 .H543 1995 (2 vols.)

Encyclopedia of American Social History  REF HN 57 .E58 1993 (3 vols.)


American Immigrant Cultures  REF E 184 .A1 A63448 1997D  (2 vols.)

Latinas in the U.S.  REF E 184 .S75 L35 2006  (3 vols.)

NAACP and other organizations

Organizing Black America  REF E 185.5 .O74 2001

Hate Groups, Terrorists

Terrorism:  A Guide to Events and Documents   REF HV 6431 .K698 2004

Encyclopedia of Modern American Extremists and Extremist Groups   REF HN 90 .R3 A75 2002


Black American Colleges and Universities  REF LC 2781 .H54 1994

Encyclopedia of African-American Education   REF LC 2717 .E53 1996

Historical Dictionary of School Segregation and Desegregation   REF LC 212.52 .R34 1998

Encyclopedia of Education  REF LB 15 .E47 2003 (multi-volume)


Encyclopedia of Psychology  REF BF 31 .E52 2000


Encyclopedia of Sociology   REF HM 425 .E5 2000

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology  online


African American Lives   REF E 185.96 .A446 2004

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next