Skip to main content

MU 398a Library Research Music/Media/Representation/Difference: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries

Online databases and strategies for library research for "Music, Media, and the Representation of Difference"

Music Dictionaries

For Starters:

All Music Guide, for popular music research. A great website to navigate the world of recorded music, what to listen to in various genres, with artists bios listing their most significant recordings.

Harvard Dictionary of Music, for concise definitions

Oxford / Grove Music Online, for more thorough definitions, biographies, with sources

Biographical Dictionaries

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Music. (2001) Edited by Nicolas Slonimsky. MUSIC REF ML105 .B16 2001

Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music. (2003)

Pronouncing Dictionaries:

The well-tempered announcer : a pronunciation guide to classical music. MUSIC REF ML109 .F73 1996

Multilingual Dictionaries:

Musical Terminology: A Practical Compendium in Four Languages. MUSIC REF ML ML108 .T4

 
More dictionaries of musical terms

Music Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Start with an encylopedia or dictionary to find biographies and dates of musicians, definitions of musical terms, and brief articles on cultures, styles, or musical instruments. A bibliography is included for further information. 


Search Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online searches across:

  • Grove Music Online
  • Encyclopedia of Popular Music Online
  • Oxford Dictionary of Music
  • Oxford Companion to Western Music

Your Librarian

Margaret Ericson's picture
Margaret Ericson
Contact:
Bixler Art and Music Library, Rm 136
Bixler Art/Music Building
Spring 2018 office hours: Monday, 2-4 p.m., Thursday 10 a.m.-noon.
margaret.ericson@colby.edu
207-859-5662
Website
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next