A site devoted to primary source material in American history. Information archived is from leading historical periodicals and books, and includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records. Transcribed individual entries are complete with full bibliographic citations and are organized chronologically. Titles will continue to be added covering important topics and time periods for scholars and students of all academic levels.
African American Music Reference will contain 50,000 pages of text and 17,000 pages of liner notes that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
The Vietnam Veterans Against the War (VVAW) started in 1967 with six Vietnam veterans marching for peace in New York City. The purpose of the organization was to give voice to the returning servicemen who opposed the on-going war in Southeast Asia. From six soldiers in 1967, the ranks of the membership eventually grew to over 30,000. This publication consists of FBI reports dealing with every aspect of antiwar work carried out by the VVAW. The collection also includes surveillance on a variety of other antiwar groups and individuals, with an emphasis on student groups and Communist organizations.
Broadsides printed between 1820 and 1876, often created in response to popular topics and issued locally for short-lived purposes, provide a unique perspective on nearly every aspect of early American history and culture.
Produced in collaboration with the American Film Institute, the American Film Institute Catalog is the premier resource for studying American motion pictures. It is the most comprehensive and detailed national filmography in the world. The Catalog includes the entire print version, which currently comprises five volumes documenting all films produced in the United Statesfrom 1892 to 1973, as well as new content and important updates for all previous records. Also included are records for the Institute’s Top Ten Films for the years 2000 to 2007. The Catalog offers authoritative plot summaries and insider production notes, as well as subject and song indexing for each film record.
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress’s digitized American historical materials. The original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.
American Periodicals Series Online includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository to popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal to groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
American Song includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, and anti-war protests. It encompasses the great American musical genres including country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, and shape note singing - combined with powerful recordings by artists such as Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger, Peggy Seeger, Si Kahn, Lead Belly, Sleepy LaBeef, the New Lost City Ramblers, Otis Clay, Eddy "The Chief" Clearwater, Nanci Griffith, The Lilly Brothers, Merle Travis, and others.
The full text of early American newspapers for the following series: Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876; Series 2, 1758-1922; Series 3, 1829-1922; Series 4, 1756-1922 and Series 5, 1777-1922.
Ancestry.com's online search tool, providing access to a collection of documents -- including census data, birth, marriage, and death records, almanacs, and newspapers -- meant to facilitate genealogical research.
A searchable collection of election returns from 1787 to 1825. The data were compiled by Philip Lampi. The American Antiquarian Society and Tufts University Digital Collections and Archives have mounted it online for you with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities. [from the web site]
BBNA is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a large range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 141,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, a division of SAGE Publications.
A full-text database of newspapers and magazines of the ethnic and minority press in America: African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-American, European/Eastern European, Hispanic/ Latino/Chicano, Jewish, and Native American.
Formerly called "Footnote," a subscription-based social networking Web site about history and genealogy in general. Name changed and scope shifted in 2011 to center around military records, including stories, photos, and personal documents of those who served. Users can view the records and can share their own stories and other content. Users can also combine their own documents with Fold3's records to create online memorials for those who served. Non-military content from Footnote can be found on the "Records List" page and in "Browse," under the new "Other Records" category
HarpWeek is the digitized version of Harper's Weekly, a very influential periodical, noted for its illustrations, and enjoyed a wide circulation. Colby's subscription covers the Civil War through the Gilded Age (1857-1912).
Digitized articles from five major U.S. newspapers dating back to the 18th century -- includes the Boston Globe (1872-1982), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1990), the New York Times (1851-2009), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1996), and the Washington Post (1877-1997).
Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals covers 42 journals, offering essential information on artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decoration and collecting. It is an invaluable resource for art history research, as well as a valuable source of information on popular culture and industry.
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. For more details about the project, see About MoA. Making of America is made possible by a grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
Developed and managed by the Maine Historical Society (MHS), the Maine Memory Network (MMN) enables historical societies, libraries, and other cultural institutions across the state to upload, catalog, and manage digital copies of historical items from their collections into one centralized, web-accessible database.
This leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s. The Amsterdam News was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance. Coverage is from 1922 to 1993.
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 8,000 articles by top scholars in the field. The core content includes: * Africana * Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 * Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present * Black Women in America, Second Edition * African American National Biography
Indexes popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
A resource for primary source documents covering the history of women in social movements in the U.S. from 1600 to 2000, this collection provides information on women's reform activities by bringing together books, images, and full-text documents as well as scholarly essays, a chronology of U.S. women's history, a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a bibliography, and teaching tools.