Skip to main content

Image Resources: Museums and National Libraries

Guided assistance to locating images using Colby-owned imagebases or via the Internet.

Image Collections from Research Libraries

  • Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Gallica.

    Digitized rare books, manuscripts, early imprints and portraits of musicians.

  • British Library. Images Online. Search images by subject, title or keyword. Images Online provides access to thousands of the greatest images from the British Library’s collections of historical prints and photographs, manuscripts, rare books and maps spanning almost 3000 years with material from every continent.  Extremely useful for illustrating historical topics.

  • Harvard University. Visual Information Access.   Digitized special visual collections at Harvard, everything from theater design to women’s history to art collections throughout Harvard. Some images are restricted to Harvard users.

  • Library of Congress. American Memory Project. Open access and digital preservation of all types of visual, sound and textual objects for the study history and culture, from our national library.

  • New York Public Library. Digital Gallery. Voted Best Research Site for 2006 by museum professionals. Free and open access to thousands of high quality images depicting the arts, history, culture, the sciences, buildings and industry, and more, from the rich research collections at NYPL. Very well organized, and easy to search and browse.

  • Online Archive of California and its themed digital collection website, Calisphere

Important Museums

Important American Museums

International Museums

 

Your Librarian

Margaret Ericson's picture
Margaret Ericson
Contact:
Bixler Art and Music Library, Rm 136
Bixler Art/Music Building
Sabbatical, August 1, 2018 - January 31, 2019.
margaret.ericson@colby.edu.
207-859-5662
Website
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next