Skip to main content

Theater and Dance: Encyclopedias and Curated Literary Reference

Guide to theater and dance resources, online and in various media.

ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND CURATED LITERARY REFERENCE SOURCES

Important Theater Encyclopedias in Miller Library

Cambridge guide to American theatre / ed. Don B. Wilmeth. Cambridge University Press, 2007. LOCATION: Miller REF PN2221 .C37 2007

Columbia encyclopedia of modern drama / ed. Gabrielle H. Cody and Evert Sprinchorn. Columbia Univ. Press, c2007. LOCATION: Miller REF PN1861 .C65 2007 v.1-2

Encyclopedia of Asian theatre / ed. Samuel L. Leiter. Greenwood Press, 2007. LOCATION: Miller Library REF PN2860 .E53 2007 v.1-2

International dictionary of theatre / ed. Mark Hawkins-Dady. St. James Press,1992. LOCATION: Miller REF PN2035 .I49 1992 v.1-3 CONTENTS: v.1.- Plays v.2. - Playwrights v.3. Actors, Directors and Designers.

Encyclopedia of the New York stage, 1920-1930 / ed. Samuel L. Leiter. Greenwood Press, 1985. LOCATION: Miller Library REF PN2277.N5 L36 1985 v.1-2.

Encyclopedia of the New York stage, 1930-1940 / Samuel L. Leiter. Greenwood Press, 1989. LOCATION: Miller Library REF PN2277.N5 L364 1989

Encyclopedia of the New York stage, 1940-1950 / Samuel L. Leiter. Greenwood Press, 1992. LOCATION: Miller Library REF PN2277.N5 L365 1992

Scarecrow Press Historical Dictionaries of Literature and the Arts Series:

Historical dictionary of American theater : modernism. Miller Library REF PN2266.3 .F57 2008

Historical dictionary of Latin American literature and theater. Online

Historical dictionary of postmodernist literature and theater. Miller PN771 .M36 2007

Historical dictionary of Russian theater. Miller Library REF PN2721 .S46 2007

Historical dictionary of Japanese traditional theatre. Miller Library REF PN2921 .L45 2006

Historical dictionary of German theater.  Miller Library REF PN2657 .G73 2006

Historical dictionary of Scandinavian literature and theater. Miller PT7017 .S53 2006

Twentieth-century literary movements dictionary : a compendium to more than 500 literary, critical, and theatrical movements, schools, and groups from more than 80 nations, covering the novelists, poets, short-story writers, dramatists, essayists, theorists, and works, genres, techniques, and terms associated with each movement / ed. Helene Henderson and Jay P. Pederson. Omnigraphics, c2000. LOCATION: Miller Library REF PN597 .T94 2000

The World encyclopedia of contemporary theatre. Miller Library REF PN1861 .W67 1994 v.1-6

 

Your Librarian

Margaret Ericson's picture
Margaret Ericson
Contact:
Bixler Art and Music Library, Rm 136
Bixler Art/Music Building
Sabbatical, August 1, 2018 - January 31, 2019.
margaret.ericson@colby.edu.
207-859-5662
Website
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next