REF HQ 9 .C64 1995 Francoeur, Robert T., ed. The Complete Dictionary of Sexology. New York: Continuum, 1995
Concise definitions of terms from a technical, medical perspective,
strongly reflective of Kinsey. Appendices include lists of philias and
REF HQ 76.25 .S74 1995 Stewart, William. Cassell's Queer Companion: a Dictionary of Lesbian and Gay Life and Culture. New York: Cassell, 1995
The focus here is more on queer cultural
than scholarly usage. Names, terms, concepts, people, legal cases,
expressions, novels, films, and historical information are presented
from an international perspective.
REF HQ 12 .S423 2006 Sex from Plato to Paglia: A Philosophical Encyclopedia Westport, CT: Greenwood, 2006 Lengthy articles, with bibliographies, examining sexuality in intellectual and social contexts.
REF HQ 75.5.L4395 2000
REF HQ 75.13.G37 2000 The Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures, 2 vols. NY: Garland 2000
Volume 1 covers lesbians and Volume 2 covers gay men. Both are quite thorough.
REF HQ 75 .H63 1998 Hogan, Steve and Lee Hudson. Completely Queer: the Gay and Lesbian Encyclopedia. New York: Henry Holt, 1998
An excellent starting point, with many
illustrations, some bibliography, and a chronology. The article on
constructionism versus essentialism is particularly helpful. The
authors combine scholarly and cultural approaches to the material, and
are wonderfully inclusive, despite the subtitle: materials on
bisexuality, transgender, transsexuality, cross-dressers, and
hermaphrodites are also present.
REF HQ 76.96 .R68 2006 Gerstner, David A., ed. Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture NY: Routledge, 2006 International queer culture post-1945.
REF HQ 21 .I68 2004 Francoeur, Robert T., ed. The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality. New York: Continuum, 2004
Cross-cultural comparisons of 32 countries covering
all aspects of sexology in a consistent pattern. The length of articles
varies widely, from over 300 pages (U.S.) to 19 (Czech Republic and
Slovakia). Extensive bibliographies.
REF KF 9325 .A7 L46 1993 Leonard, Arthur S. Sexuality and the Law: an Encyclopedia of Major Legal Cases. New York: Garland Publishing, 1993
Summary discussions of major cases, organized by
broad subject (reproduction, criminal law and sexual conduct, speech
and association, family, discrimination, educational institutions,
immigration/naturalization, and estates and trusts). All aspects and
varieties of sexuality and gender expression receive some treatment. A
very useful volume.
REF HQ 9 .E52 1995 Levinson, David, ed. Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family, 2 volumes. New York: Macmillan, 1995
Brief articles with some bibliographic sources.
Entries include adolescent sex, gay and lesbian parents, gender, love,
marital sex, mate selection, and sexuality. Be sure to use the index in
volume 2 when researching a topic.
REF B 51 .R68 1998 Craig, Edward, ed. Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 10 volumes. New York: Routledge, 1998
Useful entries on love, sexuality, personal
identity, essentialism, Foucault, and feminist approaches to several
philosophical pursuits, as well as references to heterosexuality,
homosexuality, gay and lesbian studies, and constructionism, which may
be found through the index volume.
REF HQ 74 .B558 1999 Ochs, Robyn, ed. Bisexual Resource Guide, 3rd ed. Cambridge, MA: Bisexual Resource Center, 1999
A few brief articles, then extensive bibliograpies,
filmographies, information on the Internet,and an international
directory of bisexual and bi-friendly groups. As bisexuality is only
beginning to be recognized in its own right, this is one of the few
reference works devoted to it exclusively.
REF HQ 75.15 R43 2000 Murphy, Timothy F. Readers Guide to Lesbian and Gay Studies. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000.
A guide to academic literature on important topics in queer studies. Excellent starting place for research.
REF PN 56 .H57 G36 1994 Malinowski, Sharon, ed. Gay and Lesbian Literature. Detroit: St. James Press, 1998
Biographies, bibliographies, and literary criticism
of authors of all types of literatures. Inclusion is based on the
writers' thematic content and not their sexual identity. International