Skip to main content

Philosophy: REFERENCE

Resources for researchers in philosophy

BACKGROUND & REFERENCE INFORMATION

Search the Complete
Oxford Reference Philosophy Collection

Oxford Reference Quick Search

   Help
Search this subject Search whole database

Why should I use reference sources?

 definitions
 historical context
 biographical information on philosophers
 critical interpretation of texts
 bibliographies detailing relevant scholarship



Which reference resources are best for philosophy research?
 

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy [Online] [In print: Book Set / CD-ROM]

See also the Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy [Online]

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy is the most ambitious international philosophy project in many years. Edited by Edward Craig and assisted by thirty specialist subject editors, the REP consists of ten volumes of the world's most eminent philosophers writing for the needs of students and teachers of philosophy internationally. 

The importance of the REP is not to be found just in the sheer size of the project but also in its breadth of subject matter. It covers:

  • The core of most Anglo-American philosophy - the metaphysical, epistemological and logical questions
  • The usual menu of ethics, political philosophy and the history of philosophy
  • The philosophy of other cultures - from Chinese, Arabic and Jewish philosophy to the philosophy of Africa and Latin America

The most impressive range of authors have been gathered together on this unique project: William Alston, Roderick Chisolm, Fred Dretske, Joel Feinberg, Sandra Harding, Larry Laudan, Martha Nussbaum, Richard Popkin, Richard Rorty, Alan Ryan, Gyatri Chakravorty Spivak, Stephen Stich, Patrick Suppes and Bernard Williams, to name just a few.

This title is also available on CD-ROM in Miller Library.

Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy [Online]
"Oxford Handbooks in Philosophy bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss the latest thinking in a range of major topics in philosophy. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students."  --site description

Historisches Wörterbuch der Philosophie [Book Set]
Individual volumes available through NExpress.


You'll also want to check out...

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next