Skip to main content

Government: United States Government: 2. Congressional Documents

Searching for Documents

Congressional Publications
Provides indexing and with a seamless link to some full text documents available on the web. In addition indexes and links to Congressional Record, members voting records & financial data, U.S. regulations & laws.  It also provides indexing to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set which is helpful when searching across many types of congressional publications.  The Serial Set full text is also available from Readex's, U.S. Congressional Serial Set.

Library of Congress' THOMAS Site
In the spirit of Thomas Jefferson, the Library of Congress provides searchable information about the U.S. Congress and the legislative process. Search bills, by topic , bill number, or title. Search through and read the text of the Congressional Record.  Search and find committee reports by topic or committee name.

Guide to Congressional Documents

 

Laws & Regulations

  Congress Years Format Location Classification
Public Laws 93rd - Most Recent  1973- Online Congress.gov  
  100th - 1988- Online Congressional Publications  
         
U.S. Code   All Online FDsys  
    Current Online Congressional Publications  
U.S. Code Annotated   Current Online Westlaw Campus Research  
U.S. Statutes at Large 82nd - 1951 Online FDsys  
  1st - 43rd 1789-1875 Online Library of Congress  
  1st - current 1789- Online Constitution.org  
Federal Register   1981- Online Congressional Publications  
    1994- Online FDsys  
Code of Federal Regulations   1981- Online Congressional Publications  
    1996- Online FDsys  


Congressional Debates
 

  Congress Years Location Classification Indexing
Journals
of the Continental Congress
  1774-1789 Request from Colby Storage
(Paper)
J10.A5 Each Volume
    1774-1789 Library of Congress    
         
Annals of Congress 1st - 8th/1st 1789-1824 Library of Congress    
Register
of Debates
in Congress
         
  18th/2nd - 25th/1st 1824-1837 Library of Congress    
Abridgment of the Debates
of Congress
v.2-v.16 1796-1856

Request from Colby Storage

Paper

J15.B4 v.2-16  
    1796-1856 University of Michigan Library    
Congressional Globe          
  23rd - 42nd 1833-1873 Library of Congress    
Congressional Record 42nd - 93rd/1st
(v.1-119)
1873-1973

Request from Colby Storage

Govt. Microfilm

 

Request from Colby Storage

Congressional Record Index
Govt. X

  93rd/2nd - 94th
(v.120-122)
1974-1976

Request from Colby Storage

Govt. Documents
(Paper)

X93-X94

Request from Colby Storage

Congressional Record Index
Govt. X

  95th - 105th/1st
(v.123-143)
1977-1997

Request from Colby Storage

Govt. Microfiche

X95/1-X105/1

Request from Colby Storage

Congressional Record Index
Govt. X

  99th
(v.131- )
1985- Congressional Publications    
  101st - 1989- Library of Congress    
  103rd/2nd-
(v.140- )
1994- FDsys    


Prints/Bills & Resolutions

  Congress Years Location Classification Indexing
  101st- 1989- Congressional Publications    
  103rd- 1993- FDsys    
Prints 82nd - 86th 1951-1960

Request from Colby Storage
(Microfilm)

Congress #
& Committee
 



Congressional Publications

  93rd - 96th 1973-1980

Request from Colby Storage

(Microfiche)

Year & CIS # Congressional Publications
  97th- 1981-

Request from Colby Storage
(Microfiche)

Y4.Ag - Y4.W  

Congressional Publications

  104th- 1997- FDsys    


Hearings

Hearings Years Format Location Classification Indexing
82nd-86th 1951-1960 Microfilm Request from Colby Storage Congress # & Committee Name Congressional Publications
87th-91st 1961-1970 Microfiche Request from Colby Storage Congress # & Senate/House # Congressional Publications
92nd-97th, 1st session- 1971-1981 Microfiche Request from Colby Storage Year & CIS # Congressional Publications
97th-Current 1981- Microfiche Request from Colby Storage Y4.AG-Y4.W

(Selected hearings 1988-
Congressional Publications)
Congressional Publications


Congressional Calendars & Journals

Congress Years Location Classification Indexing
House Calendar 92nd- 1971-

Request from Colby Storage

Govt. Documents
(Paper)

Y1.2/2:  
  104th- 1995- FDsys    
House
Journal
97th/2nd- 1982-

Request from Colby Storage

Govt. Documents
(Paper)

XJH: Annual Index
    1991- 1999 FDsys    
  1st-42nd 1789-1875 Library of Congress    
  1st-15th/1st 1789-1817

House & Senate Journals
(Archive of Americana)

   
Senate Calendar Current Current

Request from Colby Storage

Govt. Documents
(Paper)

Y1.3/3:  
  104th- 1995- FDsys    
Senate Journal 97th/2nd 1982-

Request from Colby Storage

Govt. Documents
(Paper)

XJS Annual Index
  1st-42nd 1789-1875 Library of Congress
NOTE: Scans of reprints from 1820s.
   
  1st-15th/1st 1789-1817

House & Senate Journals
NOTE: Scans of original documents.

   


Congressional Reports/Documents/Serial Set

  Congress Years Location Classification Indexing
American State Papers 1st-25th 1789-1838 Request from Colby Storage
(Paper)
J33 .U53  
  1st-25th 1789-1838 American State Papers (Readex)    
Reports/Documents (Serial Set) 15th-103rd/2nd 1817-1994 U.S. Congressional Serial Set (Readex)  

Readex product provides own indexing as well as full text of documents

Congressional Publications (provides indexing only)


Request from Colby Storage
CIS U.S. Serial Set Index (includes some helpful cross files int he paper, but not necessary to use for most searches)
REFJ74.A2C65

           
  82nd-86th 1951-1960 Govt. Documents Reading Room
(Microfilm)
Congress #
& Committee Name
Congressional Publications
  91st-92nd 1969-1972

Government Documents
(Paper)

?

Report # Congressional Publications
  93rd-96th 1973-1980 Govt. Documents Reading Room
(Microfiche)
Year & CIS # Congressional Publications
  96th/2nd 1980 Govt. Documents Reading Room
(Microfiche)
X96-2
Report #
Congressional Publications
  97th

1981-

END?

Govt. Documents Reading Room
(Microfiche)
Y1.1/5, Y1.1/6, Y1.1/8 Congressional Publications
  101st- 1990- Congressional Publications   Congressional Publications
  104th- 1995- FDsys   Congressional Publications
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next