Skip to main content

GLOBAL STUDIES: Primary Sources

Primary Sources Relevant to Global Studies

Official Gazettes & Civil Society Documentation
A collection of official gazettes and other key historical government documentation from countries where the integrity of the public record is known to be at risk. The Center for Research Libraries' open web repository promotes transparency and accountability by providing a permanent public record of government documentation that defines the rights and obligations of citizens and records the activities of government. CRL is digitizing official gazettes from its extensive collection of print and microfilm, and will augment these materials by harvesting from the web more recent gazettes and related data published digitally.

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) - Documents from the National Security Archive which reflect the most significant declassified primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945.  Included are presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, confidential letters, email, and other secret material.   One can search across all DNSA Collections through the DNSA portal.

The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS),  Historical Documents - Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. From the U.S. Department of State Office of the Historian.

Ethnic Newspapers in the U.S. - The Center for Research Libraries microfilm collection of U.S.ethnic and foreign language newspapers, includes some of the oldest African-American newspaprs.

Historical Newspapers

ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
The ICON Database of International Newspapers is a freely accessible electronic resource intended to provide reliable information on newspapers published outside of the United States.

Polls & Public Opinion


HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.


Laine Thielstrom's picture
Laine Thielstrom
Phone: (207) 859-5140
Office: Miller 107A

I'm available for individual or group research consultations. Just email me your best dates/times.

Or drop by during my office hours.
Spring 2018 Office Hours:
Tuesdays: 1-2:30pm
Wednesdays: 1-2:30pm
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next