Global Studies: Key Resources

Country & Regional Profiles

Library Session Feedback

Please take our survey. Feedback helps us improve our teaching and services.

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/PFVX8M9

Thank you!!!

GLOBAL STUDIES

Photo: "The Karamojong or Karimojong, an ethnic group of agro-pastoral herders living mainly in the north-east of Uganda." by Marc Hofer - UNESCO. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0-igo via Wikimedia Commons

Newspapers and Current Events

ProQuest Newsstand - Full text of more than 500 U.S. and international news sources. Years of coverage vary by title.

BBC News, a division of the British Broadcasting Corporation, covers global news and events. Click on a continent in the top menu bar then scroll down to get country information. Sign up for a news feed to have top stories delivered automatically.

LexisNexis Academic Universe - Comprehensive full text coverage of national, international, and regional newspapers. Varying start dates 1980+.

Ethnic NewsWatch - A full-text database of newspapers and magazines of the ethnic and minority press in America: African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-American, European/Eastern European, Hispanic/ Latino/Chicano, Jewish, and Native American.

Alternative Press Index - The Alternative Press Index offers online access to articles from a large collection of alternative periodicals, particularly those concerned with radical social change. Common topics include socialism, environmentalism, feminism, and LGBT rights.

For even more newspapers, click through to our Newspaper Guide with tabs for International and Specialty News sources.

Find books and media...

  • Colby Libraries Catalog
    Search for books, CDs, videos and more.
  • NExpress
    Borrow from other academic libraries in New England.
  • MaineCat
    Borrow from public and academic libraries in Maine.
  • WorldCat
    Search for books and other materials held in libraries worldwide.

Your Librarian

Laine Thielstrom
Contact:
Office: Miller 107A
Phone: (207) 859-5140
Email: esthiels@colby.edu

Quick-Answer Email:
Sundays 7pm - 9pm

In-office Hours:
Research consultations by appointment.
Drop-ins are also welcome if I'm in and available. Check the sign on my door.

SRS librarians are happy to assist you!