Skip to main content

IT 141: Home

SEARCH THE CATALOG

 
SEARCH the Entire CBB Collection, or just Colby.
 
  in: 
 

 

Karen Gillum
Profile Image  

Laine Thielstrom

Humanities Research Librarians

Email us for appointments, with questions or problems:  kjgillum@colby.edu, esthiels@colby.edu

 

 

Citation Help

Tips for Using MLA International Bibliography   

1. Take advantage of folders and the ability to export citations in MLA format 

2. Set search limits before you begin searching 

3. Try using Names as Subjects and add terms from critical vocabulary

4. Further refine your search by adding Subject Terms


   link to web handbook on formatting citations 

    Formula for an article retrieved from a database on a Works Cited page:

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal  volume #. issue # (year): page number range. Name of Database. Web. Date of access [day month year].

Research Strategies

Begin with Background:


Finding Articles:

  • MLA Bibliography  A large database of articles on literature, written by scholars. *To help control unwieldy results, add search terms from critical vocabulary such as: imagery, metaphor, structure, symbolism.
  • JSTOR  A collection of scholarly journals on Humanist topics. 
  • Academic Search Complete  includes popular magazines, newspapers, and academic periodicals 
  • International Medieval Bibliography  for citations to articles on Dante, Boccaccio, or Petrarca; search for more in the Literature Resource Center

  • ITER a complementary database of citations to criticism on Medieval and Renaissance writers. In this database, try both "Petrarch" and "Petrarca."


For Film:


For History and Sociology:


For Newspapers:

*For much-studied authors and topics you will often find a book titled Handbook or Companion:
e.g.
The Cambridge Companion to Dante ; The Cambridge Companion to Modern Italian Culture ; The Cambridge Companion to the Italian Novel