Skip to main content

Dance & Choreography: Citing Sources / Bibliographies

Use basic research tools, databases, and dance performance criticism to illuminate the language of the body, movement practice, choreography, dance performance.

SAMPLE CITATIONS

E-Journal Article: Author last name, first name. "Title of the article in quotes." Title of the Journal in Italic Font  Volume number. Issue number (Year Published): Pagination. Database Title Used. Date accessed.

Stevens, Jayne. "'What you cannot imagine: spirituality In Akram Khan's Vertical Road." Journal Of Dance & Somatic Practices 4.1 (2012): 43-57. International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text. Web. 21 Sept. 2014

Online Video: Khan, Akram. "Akram Khan Interview: Akram Khan talks to guardian.co.uk" Sadler's Wells, London's Dance House. 9 December 2009. Web. Accessed 21 September 2014.

ASK YOUR LIBRARIAN

Margaret Ericson's picture
Margaret Ericson
Contact:
Bixler Art and Music Library, Rm 136
Bixler Art/Music Building
Spring 2018 office hours: Monday, 2-4 p.m., Thursday 10 a.m.-noon.
margaret.ericson@colby.edu
207-859-5662
Website

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHIES

How do I write an annotated bibliography?Bingham, George Caleb. Puzzled Witness. ARTSTOR

1.  Select your sources, using evaluation criteria

2. Since you are writing about performance, use a variety of sources, books, journals, websites, text, images, and media.

3.  For each source:

  • Record the bibliographic information accurately, using the appropriate citation style
  • Summarize the source
  • Critically assess the source, including the following:
    • Author's credentials and credibility
    • Main argument of the work
    • How useful it was to your research topic
    • Intended audience for the work
    • Strengths and weaknesses of the work.
    • Importance of the work in relationship to other works in the field
    • Conclusions proposed by the author

CITE SOURCES : CHICAGO STYLE GUIDE

AVOID PLAGIARISM. Document sources when you quote or borrow ideas, words, images, by creating footnotes and a bibliography. This demonstrates your research path and allows readers to follow up on ideas expressed.

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next