Skip to main content

Anthropology: Encyclopedias (Online & Print)

Encyclopedias

ONLINE

  • Credo Reference -- Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
  • Encyclopedia of Islam (online) -- The Encyclopaediof Islam (Second Edition) Online sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world ofIslam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.
  • Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, 2008 -- The original 1995 encyclopedia, an award winner from both the American Library Association (Dartmouth Certificate) and the American Historical Association, was celebrated as a landmark in the development of Latin American studies (The Americas). This new edition adds nearly 600 entirely new topics, replaces some 150 obsolete entries, and also provides substantial revisions to hundreds more. Every one of the 5,700+ entries has been reviewed for currency of content and bibliography.
  • Encyclopedia of Religion 2nd Edition -- This is a second edition of Eliade's famous work.  Essential coverage of all aspects of religion.
     
  • Europa World Plus -- Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book covers political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.  The online site allows you to generate tables comparing data from two countries.
  • Garland Encyclopedia of World Music -- The first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
  • Native American Authors -- an Internet Public Library Bibliographic Project Covers roughly 400 American Indian authors, 700 books, and 200 URLs, accessible by author, title, or tribe. Intended as an annotated bibliography of print and Web sources on American Indian authors.

PRINT

  • REF GN 11 .W5 1969 Winick, Charles. Dictionary of Anthropology. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1969. The classic dictionary for quick definitions of anthropological terms.
  • REF GN 307 .D485 1997 Barfield, Thomas. The Dictionary of Anthropology. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers, Inc., 1997. The best update to Winick.
  • REF GN 307 .E527 1996 Barnard, Alan & Jonathan Spencer, eds. Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology. NY: Routledge, 1996. Descriptions of terms in their anthropological context, tracing the history, development, and use of each entry. Very helpful bibliographies, plus a section of short biographical entries and a glossary.
  • REF GN 495.4 .E63 2005 Skutch, Carl, ed.  Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities NY:  Routledge, 2005.  Especially useful for indigenous peoples.
  • REF GN 281 .E53 2000 Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory. NY: Garland, 2000 Nearly 800 entries on paleoanthropology, with illustrations and index. Articles were chosen to reflect a variety of views on the same topics
  • REF GN 307 .E52 Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology. 4 vols. NY: Henry Holt & Co., 1996. Sponsored by the Human Relations Area Files, this set covers regions, topics, races, themes, and trends in the discipline.
  • REF GN 380 .I57 The Indigenous World Copenhagen:  IWGIA, annual.  Record of the year's events for indigenous peoples worldwide.
  • REF GN 307 .E53 1991 Encyclopedia of World Cultures. 10 vols. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1991. Descriptive summaries of cultures, with each volume containing an entire continent. Entries follow a pattern to describe the history, economy, kinship, marriage, and family patterns, social and political organization, religion, and arts of each culture, with a brief bibliography to round them off. Maps, glossaries, filmographies, and indexes of ethnonyms, which help identify scattered cultures such as the Rom (or gypsies).
  • REF E 77 .H25 Handbook of North American Indians Washington, D.C.:  Smithsonian Institution, 1988+.  The starting place for information about American Indians.  Each volume covers a region, so some tribes may not be represented yet, as the set is still in progress.  There is also a volume on Indian-White relations.

Your Librarian

Marilyn R. Pukkila's picture
Marilyn R. Pukkila
Contact:
Miller Library 107D
Colby College
207-859-5145
Office hours: in Miller: W 1:30-3:30
in Diamond 207: T 3:30-5
and by appointment in Miller M-F
NO set office hours in January
Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next