Skip to main content

AUTHORS: WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE

WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE

 

Dates: 1564-1616
 

Nationality: British/English
 

Literary Periods: 

 Elizabethan Period, 1558-1603

Jacobean and Caroline Period, 1603-1660

Renaissance Period, 1500-1660

Tudor Period, 1500-1603

BOOKS ON SHAKESPEARE

HEADER

 

This guide is a work continually in progress!  I hope it offers a useful starting point for Shakespeare research, and I invite you to contact me with any questions or recommendations for the site (kjgillum).  

NEWS: Was Marlowe co-author to the Henry 6 plays? 

REFERENCE & BACKGROUND INFORMATION

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

The unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words from across the English-speaking world

Scribner Writers Series

Extensive biography on the life and works of William Shakespeare

You'll also want to check out...

RESEARCH & CRITICISM

Find books, essays and journal articles in MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is the definitive literary research database, indexing the most authoritative scholarship on William Shakespeare from books and academic journals.  MLA indexes and links to the entire JSTOR literary research collection as well as linking to many other full-text providers.

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and 2011. Contains over 126,900 annotated entries


You'll also want to check out...

PRIMARY SOURCES

The Booke of Sir Thomas More (a play probably written principally by Anthony Munday, with revisions by Thomas Dekker, Henry Chettle, William Shakespeare, and possibly Thomas Heywood) is preserved in a manuscript at the British Library (Harleian Ms. 7368). Most scholars now concur that two brief passages were written by Shakespeare circa 1594-1595, and that one of them represents the only surviving example of a literary or dramatic manuscript in Shakespeare's hand.

Shakespeare's autograph signature occurs in three places in his will, dated 25 March 1616, located in the Public Records Office (PROB 1/4). His signature is also on a deposition given to the Court of Requests in 1612 (Public Records Office, REQ 4/1), and in two documents relating to the mortgage purchase of a property in Blackfriars (one in the Guildhall Library, the other in the British Library, Egerton Ms. 1787).  --DLB 3/18/11

WWW

Also of interest!  MIT's Global Shakespeare site gives access to video of hundreds of performances in many languages all over the world.

On the lighter side: The Reduced Shakespeare Company on YouTube.

MULTIMEDIA

Colby College on Twitter Colby College on Facebook Colby College on YouTube Colby College on Vimeo Colby College RSS Feed Search Previous Next