Skip to main content

AR/AM 375 Representing Difference in American Visual Culture: Home

A guide to research, image rich websites, and primary resources for this topic

Welcome to AR/AM 375

Find at Colby in Miller Library. E89 .S58 2003

Forever Free: Let's Research

Forever Free (courtesy of ARTstor)

1. We are going to work with ARTstor.

  • Find ARTstor using the ART/MUSIC LIBRARY HOME PAGE. Create an ARTstor account for yourself so you are able to log in, save images, and export images.
  • Using the ARTstor image database, find this image.
  • Who is the artist?
  • Describe the details of the work included in the database, e.g. where is it located, what is the medium of the image, when was it created?
  • Is there a portrait of the artist in ARTstor? What are the birth and death dates? How old was the artist when this work was completed?
  • How does this work relate to others she created that are in ARTstor.
  • Save that portrait and Forever Free into a folder.

2. Use the ART subject tab on the ART/MUSIC home page to find these recommended encyclopedias: Oxford/Grove Art Online and American National Biography. Find the article about the artist in both encyclopedias. Which one seems more complete? One of the articles lists where the letters (e.g. primary resource) of Edmonia Lewis can be found. Which encyclopedia is this?

3. Use the AR/AM375 Tab to find article databases for this course. Use one of the recommended journal databases (e.g. JSTOR, America History and Life, Art Abstracts, or others) to find an article about the artist and the work, Forever Free. Is the article peer reviewed?

4. Use CBBcat to find a book about kneeling slaves. Using Google Scholar, type in the title of the book and see how many other scholars cited this book, and locate one or two more related references.

5. Using the AR/AM 375 Guide, find Primary Resources on Edmonia Lewis and/or Forever Free.

 

 

 

 

Your Librarian

Margaret Ericson
Contact:
Bixler Art and Music Library, Rm 136
Bixler Art/Music Building
(207) 859-5662
margaret.ericson@colby.edu. Email me or make a research appointment.
Spring 2017 office hours: Tuesday 1-3 p.m., Wednesday, 1-2 p.m.
859-5662
Website / Blog Page
Social:Twitter Page