Skip to main content

Philosophy and Art: Home

Fig Leaf

"In 1857 a plaster cast of Michelangelo’s ‘David’ was presented by the Grand Duke of Tuscany to Queen Victoria, who immediately gave it to the South Kensington Museum (now the V&A). This fig-leaf was cast soon afterwards, probably by D. Brucciani & Co., and hung on the ‘David’ to spare the blushes of visiting female dignitaries."  (from the Victoria and Albert Museum website.  READ MORE)

Art Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Start with an encylopedia or dictionary to find biographies and dates of artists, definitions of art terms, background on cultures or styles, including a concise bibliography to get you started

Search Oxford / Grove Art Online

Resources for Finding Articles

    • America: History and Life
      Provides article abstracts on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from the prehistoric era to the present, drawn from international periodicals dating back to 1954; link to full text articles if owned by Colby
    • Art Source
      Art Source is international in scope, and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
    • ARTbibliographies Modern
      Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
    • Bibliography of the History of Art
      From the Getty Research Institute, a comprehensive index (1975-2007) to art books, periodical articles, essays on art, conference proceedings, & dissertations. International in scope, covering all historical periods and cultures.
    • International Bibliography of Art
      Successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art, this new database continues indexing and abstracting of scholarly publications (books, articles, essays, etc.) in all the visual arts from all historical periods in an international context.
    • JSTOR
      JSTOR is an archive of over one thousand leading scholarly journals across the humanities and social sciences. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, and is interlinked by citations and references. For most titles, holdings do not include the last 5 years.
       
      Search this database with a combination of abstract terms, including ART, rather than looking for particular artists.
ProQuest Newsstand™ offers access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world.

Images and More

ARTstor

. .  half a million high quality images of every kind of artwork, from all periods and cultures

Bridgeman Education

      an extensive visual image database covering all media

Colby College Museum of Art website

a complex of Guides to Library Resources on Art

features of the Bixler Art and Music Library

Librarian for Humanities

Karen Gillum's picture
Karen Gillum
Contact:
Miller Library 107B
(207) 859-5123
kjgillum@colby.edu

In-office hours: M noon-1:30; F noon- 1:30