WEB SOURCES
- Bibliography of Fossil Vertebrates
1509-1993. Search engine is very precise; read instructions carefully for constructing queries - Paleontology Portal
Explore paleontology in North America by state & time period; includes a fossil gallery - Paleontology and Fossils Resources
No overall search engine, but a very large list of links - The Paleobiology Database Taxonomic and distributional information about the entire fossil record of plants and animals
- Links for Palaeobotanists 1 Categories include palynology, palaeoclimate, evolution & extinction, palaeoenvironment.
- University of California Museum of Paleontology Thousands of pages of content about the history of life on Earth
TIPS
- Search for definitions in the Encyclopedia of Paleontology
- Papers by specific authors - each database will offer an author search
WHAT ARE SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES?
Scholary journal articles in the sciences are known as peer-reviewd primary literature:
- It is the place where the researcher published their findings first. (i.e., the primary place the data is found).
- In science, it tends to be a journal article outlining methodology, data, results, conclusions.
- It will always have a Literature Cited section.
- It is the researcher's own words, not summarized by anyone else.
- It was peer-reviewed before being accepted for publication.
- It is found in scholarly journals such as Geology, Journal of Paleontology, GSA Bulletin.
Secondary (review) articles summarize other people's primary literature articles. These are a good place to start to understand a topic however. Examples are the Annual Reviews series, many books in the sciences, or any article that has "review" in the title.
Newspaper articles, Newsweek, etc. are NOT primary, scholarly literature.
Natural History and Smithsonian are secondary literature (reviews), although scientific in scope.
FIND GEOLOGY JOURNAL ARTICLES

- GEOREF
Database actually covers geology back to 1693. Amazing scope. - Web of Science
Fewer journal titles, but allows Cited Reference searching and easier identification of Related articles. - Additional geology databases ...

WHAT IF I TRY GOOGLE?
Go ahead, give it a try (if you want thousands of results). Compare what you get using Google, then try one of the article databases I've suggested to the left. You should see a big difference in your results.
Description
Loading content... please wait












Loading content... please wait